On Learning…

I graduated from what I find myself calling “regular college” in the Spring of 2014. With that graduation came a bachelors degree and what I assumed was the likely end of my higher education. Now, I’m a single quarter away from an associates and next January I begin my masters. It’s a very weird order, I realize.

We’re ending up our Winter quarter classes in my college right now, wrapping up with final exams and papers and those sorts of things. Graduation is in 96 days. All of this seems surreal to me.

In preparing for these exams, though, I often lack the real initiative to study, instead trusting myself as I always do to cram enough information into my brain during the hour or so before the exam to get myself a low A. And this is not working.

I mean, it works just fine for my grades. My GPA is well above what it ever was in high school and “regular college” (I really need to find a better term for this). But it’s not working because I’m not really learning. Learning denotes endurance of the information, and I’m not remembering these things.

For this last quarter, I want to do better. We’ve got a few weeks to reset, and I need to have a change of attitude during that time if I have any hope of success. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

